Your email address is required to begin the subscription process. We will use it for customer service and other communications from Milk Street. You can unsubscribe from receiving our emails at any time.
Hi Paula -
You can find a few soy-free miso pastes - made from chickpea or adzuki beans - at health food stores or online. Both South River and Miso Master brands make a chickpea-based version. Although we haven't tested it in this recipe, gluten-free fish sauce or anchovy paste may add some of the umami flavors that the miso paste would otherwise impart.
The Milk Street Team
I would love to try this gravy, but I’m allergic to the wheat, soy, and mushrooms called for in this recipe. Coco aminos can be often subbed for the soy sauce, and I’ve read zucchini can usually be subbed for mushrooms. A substitute for miso paste has me stumped. What would be a good substitute?